Press Release: AGTA Announces Results of Board of Directors Election and Bylaws Referendum

DALLAS. Sept. 13, 2023 – The American Gem Trade Association (AGTA) announced today the results of its annual AGTA Board of Directors’ Election and AGTA Bylaws Referendum.

There were four Directors elected to the Board. Mr. Rohan Agrawal, Shanu Gems, Inc.; Mr. Ron Rahmanan, Sara Gems Corporation; and Ms. Cynthia Renee, Cynthia Renee, Inc. were elected to serve three-year terms. Mr. Eshvar Kotahwala, Vinod Kotahwala, Inc., was elected and will serve a one-year term. The Directors-elect will take office in February 2024.

The following Members will continue with their positions on the Board:

Ann Barker

Dudley Blauwet
John Bradshaw

Bruce Bridges
Kimberly Collins

Melinda Daniel
Jonathan Gad

Matthew Hopkins
Ravi Jajoo

Jaimeen Shah
Eric Yen

AGTA would like to recognize Renata Abrahami, A. B. C. Gems, Inc., and Shiksha Naheta, Empresa Jewels, Inc., for their commitment to the AGTA Board of Directors and express appreciation for their years of service and dedication to AGTA. Their terms as Directors will end in February 2024.

Blue Sapphire from Kimberly Collins Colored Gems
Blue Sapphire from Kimberly Collins Colored Gems

“Congratulations to our newly elected Board members,” says Kimberly Collins, AGTA Board President and owner of Kimberly Collins Colored Gems. “We have Rohan Agrawal coming back for a second term as well as Ron Rahmanan and Cynthia Renee stepping back up to serve after being previous Board members, and Eshvar as a first-time Board member. Thank you for your willingness to roll up your sleeves to help AGTA’s continued success in the industry.”

Past President Ruben Bindra chaired the Nominating Committee. The Committee Members were John Bachman, Afshin Hackman, David Nassi and Shekhar Shah. The AGTA Board of Directors holds elections on a rotating cycle to guarantee the coherence of the Board’s long-term plans. The new Board Members will be introduced at the AGTA Membership Meeting, which is open to all AGTA Members and will be held during AGTA GemFair Tucson, January 30–February 4, 2024. For more information, please contact [email protected] or 800-972-1162.

The change to the AGTA Bylaws passed with an overwhelming 95.8% in favor. The AGTA Bylaws Committee is Co-Chaired by Jeffrey Bilgore and Jaimeen Shah. Committee members are Kimberly Collins, Malinda Daniel, Raja Shah, and Ray Zajicek.

“I am thrilled to announce our Bylaws amendment has passed … long past due!” says Collins. “We have set our organization on a path of compliance with the New York state law and made amendments that are in line with our Code of Ethics. These bylaws were of most importance for the protection and preservation of the health of AGTA’s future.”

“I want to thank the Bylaws Committee for all their hard work and the membership for participating in the two town hall meetings and their overall confidence that AGTA is heading in the right direction” says AGTA CEO John W. Ford Sr.

The American Gem Trade Association (AGTA) is a not‐for‐profit association serving the colored gemstone and cultured Pearl industry since 1981. Headquartered in Dallas, members are trade professionals based in the U.S. and Canada, and AGTA is widely regarded as “The Authority in Color.” AGTA’s activities include organizing educational programs, trade shows, and printed materials and maintaining strong relationships with government officials and other jewelry trade groups. AGTA is committed to upholding the highest ethical standards and practices.